Counseling services continue despite the coronavirus

4 months ago Connor Merk Comments Off on Counseling services continue despite the coronavirus

The counseling department has announced that it will continue to offer counseling services to students. According to an email sent on March 20, “Online counseling sessions are available with all of our counselors. If you are already seeing a counselor here, you can contact them directly and they can set up online sessions.” 

Also, the Center for Disease Control (CDC) posted a list titled, “Things you can do to support yourself” on its website. This list recommends taking breaks from watching, reading or listening to news stories, including social media, because continually hearing about the pandemic can cause additional stress. You should also take care of your body by taking deep breaths, stretching or meditating. Additionally, it suggests connecting with others by speaking with people you trust about your concerns and how you are feeling. 

If you want to begin receiving services during this difficult period, please contact Crista, who will arrange sessions with one of the counselors.

Contact information is listed below:
Bill Brown at bbrown@vwu.edu or 757-455-5730
Crista Glover at cglover@vwu.edu or 757-455-3131
Stephanie Ellzey at sellzey@vwu.edu
Debbie Nazareth at dnazareth@vwu.edu
Meredith Johnson at mjohnson3@vwu.edu
April Christman at achristman@vwu.edu

Connor Merk
ccmerk@vwu.edu